message from Jeremy Corbyn to expat Penioners in Europe.One stay in the EU , two, vote for the labour party

Jeremy Corbyn

If you are a pensioner, I have this message for you. It has become clear in this election that Theresa May takes you for granted, and thinks she can get away with reducing your entitlements. I have different priorities.

Unlike the Conservatives, I pledge to you that Labour will protect the so-called “triple lock” on pensions so that your pension will rise by at least 2.5% a year, or more if inflation or earnings rise faster.

I pledge to you that Labour will protect the winter fuel payment, so we don’t go back to the days of pensioners shivering because they can’t afford heating.

And I pledge to you that Labour will protect the free bus pass that has helped so many get out and about and meet up with friends.

I pledge these things not as an act of generosity, but because you have paid into the system all your life, and this is no more than you deserve. I pledge these things because Labour stands for the many, not the few.

I want a country that treats its older people with dignity and respect. If you are a pensioner, or someone in your family is, I would be grateful if you would share this message with them and your Facebook friends.

LikeShow More Reactions

Comment

Leave a Reply

